New Life

I was ready to start a whole new life when I lost you. I wanted to forget everything and everyone that had shaped me, had forged me into the person I was today. And that was all you. My memories were left with your muddy fingerprints, and my heart, my God my heart… I doubt one could call the crumpled stomped on bloody mess you left me with a heart. I curled up into a ball, in an effort to not let anything else escape from me. I held dominion over me; for so long I had let a foreigner sit on the throne. No more.

I woke up, a few days or maybe it’s weeks ago, and realized that I was still here. Maybe I expected to just not exist anymore. Like I would just fade away from this planet – ashes to ashes. I existed and I rose, and I chose to be more. I chose to choose, as silly as that sounds.

This new life is for me.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

